AG Jepsen won’t seek third term

AG Jepsen won’t seek third term

reporter photo

HARTFORD — Attorney General George Jepsen announced Monday that he will not seek another term.

"I am announcing today that I will not seek a third term as Attorney General, a decision I finalized with my family over the last days,” he said in statement.

Jepsen, 63, a Democrat, was first elected as attorney general in 2010, replacing fellow Democrat Richard Blumenthal. He was elected to a second term in 2014, calling the position the “greatest honor of my professional life. 

He also said he will now “pursue different challenges.” 

“I do so knowing that the men and women of the Office of the Attorney General will continue to serve and protect our state and its residents with distinction,” he said in his statement. “They are superb public servants in the truest sense, and I am proud of the work we have done together. I do not yet know what my future holds, but look forward to advancing the interests of Connecticut for the remainder of my term and in other capacities."

Gov. Dannel P. Malloy called Jepsen an incredible attorney, a fierce advocate for the people of Connecticut, a giant in Connecticut politics, and also a dear friend of mine.” Malloy also said in his statement that Jepsen, who has helped lead several multi-state lawsuits, will be remembered as one of the best attorneys general to have served our great state.”

Jepsen is the immediate past president of the National Association of Attorneys General. 

“Throughout his career in public service — as a legislator and as attorney general — George has acted with integrity and always strove to bring about the best outcome for the people of Connecticut,” Malloy said of Jepsen. “His tenure as Attorney General will be marked by his keen legal reasoning, unwavering commitment to pursuing justice on behalf of state residents, and his readiness to defend our constitutional rights.”

Prior to becoming attorney general, Jepsen represented Stamford in the state House from 1987 to 1991. He then was elected to the Senate in 1991, representing a district that also includes part of Darien. 

He served in the Senate until 2003, and served as majority leader from 1997 through the end of his term.


Twitter: @reporter_savino

Help Support Quality Local Journalism


Latest Videos