HALLS OF FAME: Southington inducts eight annual class

HALLS OF FAME: Southington inducts eight annual class

SOUTHINGTON – The 1969 New England champion Southington South Little League All-Star team and the undefeated 1957 Southington High School football team headlined the eighth induction class of the Southington Sports Hall of Fame on Wednesday night at the Aqua Turf Club.

Also inducted were former Southington football coach Jude Kelly and Southington football player Gerry LaMontagne.

Baseball player Mark Sobolewski and soccer player Henry Cence, who both starred in the 1980s with the Blue Knights, went in along with 1990s multi-sport standouts Colleen Klopp and Leslie Dunn.

New England champions of the new century, gymnast Yvette Mirando and track athlete Cherraine Davis, took their spot in the Hall. Davis was inducted posthumously.

Billiards/trick-shot wizard Sal Conti blazed a whole new path into the Hall. Mat Florian was inducted as a booster.

Help Support Quality Local Journalism


Latest Videos