Larkin elected Southington Town Clerk

SOUTHINGTON — Republican Kathy Larkin defeated Democrat Sandra Brunoli Tuesday to become the next town clerk.

Republican candidates for the Board of Finance and Planning and Zoning Commission also fared well in the election.

As the results were posted at Republican Party headquarters, excited supporters chanted, “Go Kathy!”

“I am so excited,” Larkin said after learning she had won. “I really am speechless right now.”

Republican Leslie Cotton, who held the position of town clerk for the past 20 years, decided not to seek re-election. Larkin has worked in the town clerk’s office for 28 years, most recently serving as deputy town clerk.

Six seats were up for grabs on the Board of Finance, with eight candidates running. The Republicans won the majority, with Edward Pocock Jr., John Leary, James Coleman and Joseph Labieniec claiming spots.

Democrats John Moise and Kevin Beaudoin took the remaining two seats.

“It feels good,” Labieniec said. “We look forward to continuing what we started.”

Republicans also held their seats on the Planning and Zoning Commission, with Michael DelSanto, Paul Chaplinsky and Steve Kalkowski winning re-election.

Democrat Susan Locks, a PZC alternate, took the final seat.

Democrats Angelina Santa Maria and Thomas Murphy were elected to the Water Commission. Gregory Klimaszewski, the only Republican in the race, also won a seat.

Voters rejected two proposed changes to the Town Charter and accepted one.

They did not agree to give the town manager authority over the police and fire departments.

Voters also rejected raising the minimum monetary threshold for putting town contracts out to bid from $10,000 to $25,000 and raising the amount for Public Works contracts requiring public bidding from $5,000 to $25,000.

They agreed to allow the town manager to authorize transfers of up to $1,000 into or out of a line item within a department’s budget. (203) 317-2212 Twitter: @FollowingFarrah

Back to SouthingtonElectionStories

Latest Comments