Coginchaug doubles teams dominate at conference tournament

Coginchaug doubles teams dominate at conference tournament


Coach Ryan Donecker, Sam Temple, Nikki Woznyk, Jess Couglin, Kyle Judson, Christina Rizzo, Paige Larkin, Coach Molly MacDuff and Coach Amy Schaefer. | Bonnie Fowler, Submitted

The Coginchaug boys and girls tennis teams played in the Shoreline Conference tournament May 25-26. Justin VanEyndhoven, Dominic Pascarelli, Kyle Bubier, Kyle Judson, Sam Temple, Shannon Carey, Sam Pietrzyk, Emily Leibiger, Alyssa VanEyndhoven, Laura Hinsch, Paige Larkin, Christina Rizzo, Jess Coughlin and Nikki Woznyk all qualified for the tournament by winning at least four matches during the regular season at their position.

The boys doubles team of Judson and Temple, and the girls doubles team of Coughlin and Woznyk each won their respective tournaments becoming the 2016 Shoreline doubles champions. Judson and Temple beat the second ranked team from Cromwell, 6-4, 6-4, and Woznyk and Coughlin bested the third ranked doubles team from Old Lyme, 6-3, 7-5.

The team of Rizzo and Larkin also qualified for the second day, and ran into Woznyk and Coughlin in the semifinals.

Woznyk, Coughlin, Judson and Temple each earned First Team All-Shoreline honors. Rizzo and Larkin were named to the second team.

Support Quality Local Journalism

Latest Videos