A celebration of excellence in Plainville

Eleven Plainville students received the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents’ Superintendent / Student Recognition Award and Certificate of Excellence at the annual Superintendent’s Award Presentation, held Dec. 15 during a luncheon at J. Timothy’s Restaurant.

The award-winning students are: Mary Fontaine and Cayden Higgins, Linden Street School; Tyler Clark and Maggie Caron, Louis Toffolon School; Marlie Condon and Ashley Thorpe, Frank T. Wheeler School; Jack Wilder and Sofia Ruiz, Middle School of Plainville; and Te’a Autunno, Megan Gray and Spencer Michalek, Plainville High School.

“It was terrific to bring these students, families, district leaders and Board of Education members together for this celebration of excellence and positive character, held in person for the first time in three years,” said Superintendent of Schools Steven LePage. “I am proud of these students, who rose to the top among so many outstanding and worthy students across the fifth, eighth and twelfth grades. As I shared at the luncheon, I want to thank the parents and caregivers for the modeling and guidance they provide to their children in helping them to become such wonderful citizens of our schools and community. We have so many terrific students in Plainville with impressive accomplishments and qualities of positive character, and it was great to be able to recognize these 11 recipients as models of the qualities we hope to see in all students.”

The Superintendent / Student Recognition Award and Certificate of Excellence is given to students who have been nominated by their teachers and chosen by their principal. Criteria for recognition of excellence include community service and service to others, academic performance relative to ability, leadership service to the school community, and other unique qualities.


More From This Section