At the Record-Journal we're committed to delivering FREE CORONAVIRUS COVERAGE during this crisis.
Today, in this financially challenging time, we are asking for a little extra support from all of you to help us keep our newsroom on the job.

We're committed to delivering FREE CORONAVIRUS COVERAGE during this crisis. Help keep our reporters on the front lines.

Speech Pathologist earns education grant

Speech Pathologist earns education grant

Plainville Community Schools awarded an “Innovation in Education Foundation” grant to Linden Street School Speech Pathologist Amy Dalena.

The grant will fund a special education lending library, focused on increasing the generalization of speaking situations outside of the Speech classroom. Through the new lending library, practice materials will be available for parents and school staff members.

The hands-on, interactive, easy-to-use materials will include small boxes of manipulatives, books that highlight specific sounds or concepts, games and informational resources related to communication disorders, remediation and strategies to elicit target responses.

The Plainville Community Schools’ Innovation in Education Foundation was established last year thanks to a generous donation from the Fitzgibbon Endowment.

Grants are made annually to support students, teaching and learning. Donations to the Innovation In Education Foundation allow for student, teacher and staff grants to fund innovative projects, programs and initiatives. Donations to the foundation may be made directly via the Community Foundation of Greater New Britain’s website,

“I am very excited to have the opportunity to create a lending library for parents. I believe this will truly have a significant, positive impact on the communication development of the students at Linden,” said Dalena.

“On behalf of the Plainville Innovation in Education Foundation Committee, I commend Ms. Dalena for developing this innovative lending library concept and congratulate her on being our chosen recipient of this year’s grant award,” noted Superintendent of Schools Steven LePage.

-- Press Release