Southington school board elects new chair, vice chair

Southington school board elects new chair, vice chair

reporter photo

SOUTHINGTON — The newly elected Board of Education chose a chairwoman Thursday night along with other board officers.

Terri Carmody, Republican vice chairwoman of the previous board, was chosen as chairwoman in a unanimous vote.

Earlier this month, Republican incumbents Carmody, Colleen Clark and Joseph Baczewski along with challengers David Falvo, James Chrzanowski and Missy Cipriano were elected. Democratic incumbents Zaya Oshana Jr., David Derynoski and Bob Brown were also elected to the nine-member board.

Republicans gained a seat on the board during the election and now hold six of the nine board seats, the maximum allowed.

Brian Goralski, the board’s longtime Republican chairman, chose not to run for reelection this year.

The board also unanimously elected Baczewski as vice chairman. He’s in his second term on the board.

Clark was reelected by the board as secretary.

After new board members were sworn in and officers elected, Carmody welcomed the board and said they’d work together despite party affiliation.

“We are all here for the children of Southington,” she said.
Twitter: @JBuchananRJ