CRHS student-athletes honored

The Benchwarmers booster club recently awarded $10,000 in scholarships to graduating Coginchaug Regional High School seniors.

The Stan Salva Academic Scholarship was awarded to four student-athletes who showcase, not only their love for the game, but who excel in academics as well. The recipients are Hayden Gonzales, Jenna DePonte, Tatum Hultgren and Chloe Shafir; The Bill Cahill Athlete of the Year Award went to student-athletes who show immense athleticism and talent in their sports. The recipients are Elizabeth Sorensen and Alison Albanese; The Coach Camp Award was earned by student-athletes who support and encourage their team, no matter the score. The recipients are Jayson Penney and Alexander Meisenkothen; The Judy Camp Memorial Scholarship was awarded to student-athletes who plan to pursue a career in education. The recipients are Ryan Newberry and Allison Sambor.

Founded in 1966 as a Coginchaug boys basketball booster club, the Benchwarmers adapted over the decades and now support all athletes at CRHS.


More From This Section